Pete Townshend: Slit Skirts

19 May

Pete Townshend solo album

Pete Townshend's 1982 solo album: All The Best Cowboys Have Chinese Eyes

Birthday greetings to The Who’s Pete Townshend, who celebrates No. 66 today; forget whatever it was he said in My Generation, he can’t pretend growing older never hurts.

It was announced this week that Townshend has a publisher (Harper Collins) for his memoir, “Pete Townshend: Who He,” which will be released next year.

We’re not sure how it will compare to Quadrophenia or Who’s Next or Empty Glass, but we’ll be queuing up to buy it on the day that it’s available.

Townshend: “”I know I am good at what I do as a performer and composer, but since my early teens I have been happiest when writing. Writing is my principal daily occupation. Rock ‘n’ roll is a tough career, however cynically or comically it is portrayed by its detractors. I am lucky to be alive and to have such a crazy story to tell, full of wild adventures and creative machinations. I am happy that I am able to write my book myself, in my own ‘voice’ that many readers will be hearing for the first time.”

From Townshend’s own voice, on Slit Skirts:

I don’t know why I thought I should have some kind of divine right to the blues
It’s sympathy not tears people need when they’re the front page sad news.
The incense burned away and the stench began to rise
And lovers now estranged avoided catching each others’ eyes
And girls who lost their children cursed the men who fit the coil
And men not fit for marriage took their refuge in the oil
No one respects the flame quite like the fool who’s badly burned
From all this you’d imagine that there must be something learned

sources: reuters.com, popeater.com

Leave a Reply

