Happy birthday Kelly: John Fogerty’s Joy of My Life

27 Nov

My wife Kelly

Kelly is a little older today than she was when this picture was taken, but I still get that look occasionally. Hopefully not today.

Today is Randy Newman’s 69th birthday, which should be one to celebrate.

But not in my house, where Newman shares a birthday with my wife Kelly. There aren’t many people to whom Newman gets lower billing, but Kelly is one and especially on her birthday. Even if it’s his, too. (It’s also Jon Stewart’s, who for some reason, she thinks is funnier than her husband and sometimes seems to love even more, and William Blake’s. At least I can be sure the latter won’t be sending an e-card. He did leave us with:

Soon my Angel came again;
I was armed, he came in vain;
For the time of youth was fled,
And grey hairs were on my head.

John Fogerty's Blue Moon Swamp

John Fogerty’s 1997 release Blue Moon Swamp. Joy of My Life is song No. 10.


It’s important to note, in this entry and on this occasion, the grey hairs are mine.

Newman’s music, full of wit and satire, isn’t really appropriate for birthday celebrations (with the possible exception of You Can Leave Your Hat On). To celebrate properly, I’m borrowing John Fogerty’s Joy Of My Life, because Kelly is the joy of mine. I needn’t go into reasons, at the risk of making this more tacky than it already may be, except to say they’re bountiful.

Fogerty released the song on his 1997 album Blue Moon Swamp, one of his many comebacks. “As a songwriter, only a few did as much in three minutes [as John Fogerty] . . . He was severe, he was precise, he said what he had to say and he got out of there,” said Bruce Springsteen, according to Derek Barker’s liner notes from the 2009 Bruce Springsteen’s Jukebox: The Songs that Inspired the Man, according to wikipedia. Sounds a lot like the birthday girl.

Fogerty plays the guitar, on the link below, with the guitar prone in his lap. I’m not sure I could manage that; about the best I could ever do to approximate the sound would be with my teeth on a beer bottle. Which I’d gladly attempt.

Happy birthday, Kelly. I hope it’s a good one.

Some may have their riches
Some may have their worldly fame
Long as I have you
I treasure each and every day

One Response to “Happy birthday Kelly: John Fogerty’s Joy of My Life”

  1. Kelly November 28, 2012 at 11:03 am #

    Wow! I’ve never thought I was a joy to anyone. A pain in the ass, maybe. 😉 thank you, sweetheart, for the beautiful birthday tribute. I cry tears of joy. I love you!

Leave a Reply

